Breaking Free

For a long long time in my life, my weight completely held me down. I was conscious about the way I looked, felt, ate and behaved in social situations. There came a time when I was so bogged down by the insensitive comments of completely random strangers that I avoided going out altogether. Talking to another person gave me anxiety attacks knowing that their first comment wont be about ME but a gasp about how much weight I have put on.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

I was a normal healthy teenager, loving life and being a social butterfly when this rude comments and funny remarks about my body started and it was while I wasn’t even “fat”. When I was in grade 9, it gave me aneroxia and I just couldn’t bring myself to eat anything for days and became anemic in the process. That’s when my mother called an intervention and thankfully, I got out of the disease before it got serious.

Fast forward to my college days- a shitty breakup later, I found myself again in the vicious cycle of eating disorder and before I knew it, I was binge eating through my depression until I gained about 20 kilos and it started harming my health.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

At the mere age of 24, I got diagnosed with diabetes had crazy triglyceride levels and was emotionally and physically drained of all this. I love food, for God’s sake, I am a food writer but I knew I had to do something about my life.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Today in just a short span of 4 months, I have turned my life around. I not only eat better but look and feel better too. And guess what? I have defeated diabetes! So through the next series I will talk about my life and lifestyle changes through fashion posts and food posts and hoping to have you all by my side through it!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

This shoot, is a huge step in my life. I never thought I would be comfortable putting up slightly exposing pictures of myself for everyone to gawk at and I am so comfortable doing so at this point of my life.

xo

M

 

Leave a Reply

